What happens to policies during migration

Endpoint Security optimizes and consolidates legacy products into an integrated, efficient new platform. In addition to new and enhanced features that leverage the latest developments in security technology, a new McAfee® Endpoint Security Common module centralizes the shared protection features so they are easily accessible by all product modules. As a result, some of the policy settings you are familiar with in legacy products have changed.

The Endpoint Migration Assistant ensures that the settings in your legacy policies are moved to the correct policies in Endpoint Security. In some cases, they are merged with other Endpoint Security settings, and in others, new default settings are applied to support updated technologies.

  • New and revised categories reflect new and shared features.
  • New settings represent new functionality.
  • Some settings are removed, moved to a different category or policy, or merged with settings for other features.
  • Some settings for multiple operating system platforms can be migrated to separate single-platform policies or one multi-platform policy.
  • Settings shared by multiple product modules and features are moved to the Options policy in the Common module.
  • In some cases, settings are duplicated in multiple policies for use by functionality that is split across modules.

See Appendix E, Changes to migrated settings, for details about settings that are removed, moved, renamed, or merged.

Figure 1. Source and target policies